scansasa.blogg.se

Future plans for electronauts vr
Future plans for electronauts vr













  1. #FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR HOW TO#
  2. #FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR SOFTWARE#
  3. #FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR PC#
  4. #FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR FREE#

So why does Bird Quest VR need to be in VR? Well for one, it’s in the name, but that’s a stupid reason. The medium should serve the experience, and not the other way around.

#FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR HOW TO#

I’ve caught myself thinking up new ideas for games and immediately wondering about how to make them work in VR. In short, I think there is a strange obligation to the medium that is only doing it a disservice. I have a lot of opinions about how VR is being used these days. Your character may survive, but will your dignity? No more VR for the sake of VR I already have voice lines for a second level recorded, and it would be a shame to let those wonderful performances go to waste. So I’ve decided to continue to work on BQVR for a little bit and then launch it on Steam. Working on it made me realize that this is what I want to do. The current version of Bird Quest VR (BQVR) is just a tutorial level that I put together over the course of a month as a capstone project for my Nanodegree in Virtual Reality Development. So, the first thing to address is what exactly I’m trying to do here. They’re like regular sharks, but in space. Well, as coherently as possible when one’s main gameplay mechanic is throwing flaming chickens into the vast expanse of outer space. I’ve decided to start writing these in an attempt to create some accountability for myself, and to keep the game’s development going smoothly and coherently. Greetings fledgelings! Welcome to the first ever Bird Quest VR developer update.

#FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR PC#

Here are a few sneak peeks from some very early gameplay tests of PC vs. I’ll just say that it’s very much happening and to stay tuned. I’ll do more posts exclusively about it, as my classes this upcoming semester will be more directly linked to making it into a real business. The PC player is a bouncy little chick, with the sole task of inconveniencing the VR player as much as possible. The VR player embodies a giant chicken at work, tasked with operating a Content Creation machine. The game has gone through a few iterations since then and I’ve been rebuilding it from the ground up with the support of the Transmedia Zone, a startup accelerator for innovations in storytelling and media. It was originally a single-player story-based prototype I built almost a year ago (time flies!) If you’ve been following my criminally infrequent blog posts you’ll have read about BirdQuestVR. This skeleton demo was a useful exploration into asymmetrical VR, which I’ll explain more in the next section.

#FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR FREE#

I kept messing around in my free time and soon produced this: I didn’t, but 15 minutes later, after consulting the trusty old world wide web, I did. It all started when a friend asked if I knew how to set up ragdoll physics in Unity. October was a weird month, I got sidetracked playing around with skeletons and ragdoll physics

#FUTURE PLANS FOR ELECTRONAUTS VR SOFTWARE#

I’ve been using the software for long enough now that I can whip up something ugly and functional quite quickly. One thing I’ve been trying to do more recently are quick little experiments with Unity.

future plans for electronauts vr

I can put together a little tutorial on how I built it if anyone is interested (let me know!).Ĭlick here to see statistics on what decisions previous players have made.Īlso, Netflix’s Bandersnatch totally copied us. I coded the interactivity from scratch in Javascript using YouTube’s API along with Google Firebase‘s free database and web hosting plans. Since I was the resident coder and the rest of the team had experience with film, it made sense for me to handle the back-end while they produced the video. There are decision points at the end of each video, and the viewer can decide what happens next! You follow a day in the life of Louis, a citizen of a futuristic “Smart City” that rewards or punishes its inhabitants based on their lifestyle choices. Citizen A shot from Citizen, our interactive film that explores the role of persuasive technology in smart citiesĬitizen is an online interactive film created by Mo, Jonas, Daniella, and myself for our Foundations of Digital Media class. It’s easy to get caught up with deadlines and work and never have the time to slow down and reflect on everything that’s been made so far! Here are a few of my digital creations from the last four months, and some updates on ongoing projects.

future plans for electronauts vr

School is going by quickly so I want to post a recap of a bunch of the things I’ve created in the first semester of my Master of Digital Media before the second semester picks up.















Future plans for electronauts vr